Healthy Meals! Tandoori Chicken with Tabouli Couscous…

It’s the New Year and I know many of us are trying to get back in shape and take off those holiday pounds. I am on board and will be making a conscious effort to eat better and share healthy meals with you. Did I mention I busted my butt this morning on Kendra’s new workout video? It’s pretty good! I am also looking forward to trying out Tracy Anderson’s “Method Dance Cardio” DVD. I’ll keep you posted on that. πŸ™‚

Now I love foods inspired by different cultures, especially Indian food (that’s my favorite), but what’s even better is the recent availability of spices and pre-made foods such as hummus and tabouli in regular grocery stores. Our country is embracing this fusion of different cultures and creating new ways of combining ingredients. So here I am creating my own fusion of tabouli couscous and tandoori chicken. I mean, who say eating healthy has to be boring? πŸ˜‰

I got this tandoori chicken recipe out of my new cookbook “200 Budget Meals” hamlyn all color, and I HIGHLY recommend it. I love cookbooks with pictures and this book has one for every dish. πŸ™‚ There is such a wide array of food that is contemporary and budget friendly so I urge you to check it out! Here is the recipe…

Tandoori Chicken

  • 8 chicken drumsticks
  • 8 chicken thighs
  • 2 tablespoons tikka spice mix or paste
  • 2 garlic cloves crushed
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 5 tablespoons plain yogurt

Score the pieces of chicken with a knife. Combine remaining ingredients in a bowl.

Place chicken in a ziplock adding the marinade. Seal the bag and massage the marinade into the bag. Place in fridge for 30 min. or overnight.

Note:Β For the tikka spice listed above you should be able to find it in the store, but just in case here is the link on how to make it: Tikka spice recipe.

Transfer the chicken to a baking dish. Place in a pre-heated oven at 475 degree for 25-30 min.

Garnish with chopped cilantro and grated lime zest.

Tabouli Couscous

  • a few spoonfuls of fresh tabouli
  • 1 cup dried plain couscous
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 lemon squeezed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons toasted pine nuts
  • drizzle olive oil

In a small pot combine the butter, salt and water, bringing to a boil. Add in the couscous and stir. Turn off the heat and cover with a lid for 5 minutes. With a fork, fluff the couscous.

Now, tabouli is perfect for this dish because it has a lot of the ingredients you would normally put into the couscous saving you time. It’s made of red onion, garlic, parsley, mint, and tomato. You can find it next to the fresh hummus in the cold food section.

Add in the tabouli, pine nuts, lemon juice, and olive oil. Season with salt & pepper.

I can’t tell you how moist this chicken was and the flavors… I loved the couscous. It saved me so many steps and the seasoning was absolutely perfect.

I hope this gives you a fresh start to kick off the new year!

~ amy

Leave a Reply

