Sweet Simplicity with Leafy Greens – A Warm Kale Salad with Roasted Potatoes…

I have been wanting to attempt a dish with one of these leafy greens for a long time now. I really like to challenge myself with new ingredients. Now I don’t know why I picked kale, but today when I saw it at the supermarket I grabbed it and then I grabbed a potato.

At the time I had no vision of ever combining the two, but when I realized it was all I had in my fridge a meal was born!  This warm salad is perfect as a side or just by itself. 😉  

I believe there are different types of kale, but this one has larger leaves.

Warm Roasted Potato Salad w/Kale (servings 2)

  • 1 bunch of kale 
  • 1 potato (sliced into discs)
  • 1 sweet onion (sliced)
  • clove of garlic (optional)
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • fresh parmesan (grated or in ribbons)
  • salt
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder

Vinaigrette

  • olive oil
  • balsamic

You want to work on the roasted potatoes first. You can do one of two things – either toss the slices in some olive oil, salt, and roast in the oven until crispy, golden brown or you can do it the fast way (which is what I did), and cook them in vegetable oil working in batches. If you work in batches the oil stays hotter longer and cooks the potato slices faster.

Place some vegetable oil in a fry pan – just enough to coat the bottom. I always test the heat of the oil by flicking in some water. When it sizzles I know it’s ready. Then I place the potato slices in the hot oil carefully – one by one. Cook for about 5 min. on each side – then flip.

When the first batch is done – place on a bed of paper towels to soak up any excess grease. Season with salt.

In a small pot heat up the beef broth on med-low heat. Now I chose beef broth for more flavor, but if you are vegetarian you could use a vegetable broth instead.

Tip: You can make your own beef broth using beef bouillion cubes (1 cube for 2 cups of water). Stir on med-low heat.

Once your potatoes are cooked take another pot and drizzle in about a tablespoon of olive oil.

Once heated add in your sliced onion. Sprinkle with salt.

Sautee until golden. This is when you would add the chopped garlic cooking for a minute more. Remove half of the onion from the pot and place aside for later. Next, pour the beef broth into the pot with the remaining onion and garlic.

Chop your kale like so then slide into the beef broth.

Quickly toss the kale in the broth using tongs and cook for about 60 seconds or until the kale turns a vibrant green. This part is pretty magical. 😉

Note: Overcooking the greens is what makes them taste bitter. That’s why this step is super important.

Once the kale is done remove immediately from the beef broth and place into a bowl. Turn off heat and set broth aside.

For the vinagrette – combine 2 parts olive oil to one part balsamic. Stir. That was easy… 🙂

To plate your dish, stack a nice pile of kale in the middle. Spoon a large douse of the beef broth over top. Add some of the sauteed onions you put aside earlier with about 4-5 roasted potatoes. Sprinkle the dish with some onion powder and garlic powder for extra flavor (grandma’s secret). Place a few spoonfuls of balsamic vinaigrette right over top.

Finely grate some fresh parmesan cheese to finish the dish or create some fancy ribbons with a potato peeler and VOILA – a fantastic, simple dish!!

It’s fun for me to discover ways to incorporate new ingredients into my meals. So there we have it – sweet simplicity with a very leafy green…I hope I turned you onto kale. 🙂 

Stay tuned for more adventurous ingredients – I have a flavorful beet salad coming your way…

Bon Appetite!

Love,

Miss Amy

Leave a Reply

