My Favorite Spots in Wine Country!

I just recently made a visit to Napa and Sonoma and I stumbled upon some great wineries and food! Here are my favorites from wine tasting to local eats.

pic20130824160311

Best Bargain Wine Tasting

Not only did Jacuzzi Winery have a beautiful courtyard, but the tasting is free! There is a super cute gift shop and the staff is very friendly. The glasses of wine are only $5.00 and if you’ve recently visited any other wineries a glass of wine is typically around $10.00. Adjacent to the wine tasting area is another room that is dedicated to their homemade olive oil. They offer an olive oil tasting along with an assortment of soaps and body lotions.

www.jacuzziwines.com

24724 Arnold Dr  Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 931-7575

Best Winery

V. Sattui is by far my favorite winery. Not only do they offer great wine with plenty of tasting tables, but they have an amazing deli filled with fresh meats, such as Serrano ham, and a huge assortment of salads and artisan cheeses. They label the cheeses according to the wine for easy pairings and their beautiful grounds are set up specifically for picnics! It doesn’t get any more fresh than picking up some gourmet snacks and finding a nice spot under a tree.

IMG_20130824_161755_705

The service at V. Sattui was exceptional. While shopping for a bottle of Pinot Noir a gentleman came up to me on a busy Saturday and asked if I wanted to taste it. He brought me right over to the tasting table and got me a free pour. I also met a local baker who was slicing samples of his chocolate truffle fudge and they had a number of other cheese and spread tastings. By the time I finally made it to the register with my delectable purchases, they offered to cork the bottle of wine for me. I could have spent the entire day here sipping on wine and indulging in their fresh eats – a definite ‘must stop’ on your tour through wine country.

www.vsattui.com

1111 White Ln  St Helena, CA 94574
(707) 963-7774

My Favorite Glass

Ca’Momi in Oxbow Public Market had a wonderful selection of charcutterie, spreads, and wine. I heard their wood fire pizza’s are also spectacular. Oxbow Market has all kinds of little vendors set up that are perfect for tasting local bites and purchasing souvenirs. I highly recommend grabbing a sample of some beer brittle from Anette’s Chocolate Factory. After my tour of the market I sat down at the counter of Ca’Momi to enjoy a glass of their Pinot Noir. It was light, smooth, and surprisingly strong –  got me a little tipsy after only one glass. They served me their complimentary homemade parmesan crisps and the service was superb.

www.camomienoteca.com

610 1st St  Napa, CA 94558
(707) 257-4992

Best Food!

The Hot Box Grill is off the tourist trek and is a local spot in Sonoma near the square that is very quaint and friendly. They have an amazing menu that is well priced with unique local fare.

If you get a chance to visit I highly recommend the deviled eggs. They are super creamy and have bits of bacon, chives, and parmesan crackers. I tried to savor them by cutting them into small bites – yummy!

IMG_20130823_193136_696

They had lovely salads, especially the roasted beet salad and the prosciutto and peach salad. I loved how thoughtful each plate was. For the peach salad you could tell they wanted you to get all of the flavors in one bite. It truly had a taste of Sonoma with fresh goat cheese from a local farm, peaches, hazelnuts, prosciutto and parmesan crackers for some extra crunch.

IMG_20130823_193152_121-1

For my entrée I had the Cornish hen that was served with a buttery corn pudding, a mac n’ cheese, fresh slaw, and a spicy dipping sauce. It was a gourmet southern meal that wasn’t missing any of the sides. I loved that. 🙂

And for dessert we indulged in the butterscotch pudding served with homemade whipped cream, garnished with bits of cookie and fleur de sel.

http://www.hotboxgrill.com

18350 California 12  Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 939-8383

Best Afternoon Snack

If you have a chance to go to Sonoma Square you can visit a number of good restaurants, hotels, and shops. The Sonoma cheese factory has free cheese tastings and restaurants such as El Dorado and The girl and the Fig have gotten rave reviews. On weekends these two restaurants are packed so if you are looking for something a little more underground with amazing food – check out Plaza Bistro. I highly recommend the Mussels Pernod which is perfect for two and the Crab Cakes appetizer with a nice glass of wine. Their food is extremely fresh and the sauce for the mussels is to die for – perfect for dipping their crispy bread. The wine is very good and so is the price. I was definitely taken back by the menu – a great find…

www.theplazabistro.com

420 1st St E  Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 996-4466

Well I hope you enjoy some of my favorite spots on your next visit to Wine Country!

♥ Miss Amy

Leave a Reply

