Carb Free – Home Style Meat Sauce w/Ground Turkey Served over Spaghetti Squash…

Served over Spaghetti Squash instead of Pasta.

Served over Spaghetti Squash instead of Pasta.

IMG_20150118_204336773

I love sharing recipes with friends and family. It’s something women have been doing for centuries. I got this recipe from my friend Yvonne – who got it from her sister and I couldn’t believe how close it was to one of my grandmother’s dishes. It tasted like my childhood and is a healthy twist on an Old Home-style meat sauce that I just had to share with my readers! It such a great recipe that you can really make it your own by adding a few of your favorite ingredients like I did. I could see this being just as delicious with a Puttanesca style sauce. The spaghetti squash makes this dish carb free and it doesn’t skip a beat. Now I had heard of using squash instead of pasta, but I wasn’t convinced until now. Let’s begin!

Ingredients:

1 bell pepper (chopped)

1 jalapeño (or substitute a small can of diced jalapeños)

1/2 sweet or white onion (chopped)

3 cloves of garlic (minced)

2 tablespoons dry sherry or red wine (optional)

10-12 mushrooms (stems removed and sliced)

1 lb ground turkey meat

marinara sauce (16 oz)

1 spaghetti squash sliced in half

olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

salt & pepper

parsley for garnish

 

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Slice the spaghetti squash in half using a big chopping knife. Scoop out the seeds and drizzle each half with olive oil. Sprinkle on some salt and pepper and place in the oven face-side down onto a pan lined with foil. Set the timer for 25 minutes then flip over for another 20-25 minutes until fork tender.

IMG_20150118_204309916

In the meantime, prepare your veggies. In a large fry pan or pot add in a tablespoon of olive oil & butter. I made this really easy on you. Just place the vegetables into the pan in the order I wrote them. First, start with the bell pepper and jalapeño.

*Note: If you are using the can of jalapeños, add this ingredient after the turkey meat.

Sauté the peppers for a couple of minutes, then add the onion and sauté a few minutes longer. Next, add the minced garlic with the mushrooms. Season with salt & pepper to your liking.

IMG_20150118_201958514

Now I love adding sherry or red wine to my sauces because it adds so much flavor. A couple of splashes will do you good. Sauté until the mushrooms are softened. Add in the ground turkey, breaking into small bits and fully cook through until there is no pink.

IMG_20150118_202803873

Make sure to not drain the dish since you are using a lower fat meat and pour in about 16 oz of sauce. Let the dish simmer for another 10 minutes until it re-absorbs all of the yummy juices on low heat.

IMG_20150118_204353777

Once the squash is ready, let it cool and using a fork begin to shred.

IMG_20150118_204757027_HDR

Serve the meat dish over the squash as you would spaghetti or just combine. Garnish with fresh parsley.

IMG_20150118_205915343

I hope you enjoy this healthy dish as much as I did. Thanks for sharing Yvonne! 😉

Bon Appetite,

♥ Miss Amy

Leave a Reply

