Pioneer Woman’s Ranch-Style Hominy Casserole

This Hominy Recipe came from the Pioneer Woman! I had never heard of hominy until I watched Ree Drummond make this dish on the FN, but it tastes like homemade corn tortilla. I made just a few tweaks to the recipe for personal preference. I made brown sugar bacon because I’m obsessed – and I opted out of bread crumbs and topped with cheese.

Photo Jan 21, 10 57 28 AM

Easy-Brown Sugar Bacon:

Place slices of bacon into a skillet. Sprinkle brown sugar directly onto bacon. After about 5-7 min. flip bacon onto the brown sugar side. The brown sugar will begin the caramelize the bacon. Cook on medium-low turning every couple of minutes so the sugar does not burn.

Pioneer Woman Hominy Casserole Recipe…

Butter, for greasing the pan
8 slices bacon, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
One 30-ounce can hominy, drained and rinsed
3/4 cup half-and-half
Hot sauce, to taste
1/2 cup grated Cheddar
1/2 cup grated Monterey Jack cheese
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup breadcrumbs

I had a combination of sharp cheddar and swiss on hand from a celebratory fondue I made last night and it worked out perfect. I added some paprika for color and a sprinkle of chili powder would actually go a long way too. The corn hominy adds a Mexican flavor.

Photo Jan 21, 11 24 18 AM

This dish was so easy to make and was a huge hit in our home! Thanks Ree for sharing your Ranch-Style recipe and introducing me to hominy!

Love,

Miss Amy

Leave a Reply

