I Heart Fabrics

For some people it is fashion, jewelry, hair, shoes and for me it’s FABRIC! I love large patterns, especially colorful ones and on my recent visit to the Pacific Design Center I was able to see the latest and greatest fabric designs. I visited some the top designer showrooms from Kravet to Osborne & Little, Cowtan & Tout and Mimi London, but a few of my favorites this year are from Raoul Textiles, Kari Fisher Designs, Quadrille, China Seas, and Alan Campbell.

As a designer I look for fabrics that pop and can carry a room. I am a big fan of large printed patterns and I was quite impressed by Kari Fisher Designs. Her fabrics are block printed by hand.

Photo Feb 03, 3 14 01 PM

That’s me on the right with my dear friend at Raoul Textiles – Gorg!

Here are some other beautiful hand-printed fabrics that caught my eye by Raoul Textiles.

 

I love the story behind this company which started in a Quonset hut on the beach of Santa Barbara. It was created by Sally McQuillan, a fine artist who began designing these beautiful textiles on linen fabric by hand. Perfect for a breezy beach home. Dreams really do come true…

Photo Feb 03, 3 18 05 PM

A lil’ friend napping in the Raoul Textile Showroom

Here is a small colorful check perfect for a country kitchen window that I stumbled upon next door in the Mimi London showroom…

Photo Feb 03, 3 24 40 PM (1)

and aren’t these polka dotted fabrics by Alan Campbell so Estella Grace?!

Photo Feb 03, 3 44 07 PM

Photo Feb 03, 3 50 42 PM

Scalamandre – Pomegranate

I was pleasantly surpised to spot some large colorful prints at Scalamandre’s showroom – part of their Arcadia Collection ~ very fun!

Photo Feb 06, 8 45 26 AM

QUADRILLE – Este Reverse (Blotch) New Shrimp on TNT Lincot, Lyford Diamond Bamboo New Shrimp on Tint, CHINA SEAS Kediri Batik Oranges/Brick/Salmon

But I think these fabrics from the Quadrille showroom stole my heart. Bright, cheery, fun and fresh prints – just my style.

Photo Feb 06, 8 45 52 AM

Quadrille Barbados Batik Dark Pink/Light Pink on, China Seas New Chrysanthemum Yellow on White L/C, Alan Campbell Tate Yellow on Tinted L/C & China Seas, Quadrille Frambroises Greens/Rose on Tinted L.

All in all, I had a great day at the Pacific design center exploring fabrics and getting inspired for my next projects.

Until my next adventure…

Love,

Amy

<—- Design Services

Leave a Reply

